Breeds Nomenclature

Breeds recognised on a definitive basis

FCI breeds recognised on a definitive basis are eligible for the CACIB (Certificat d’Aptitude au Championnat International de la FCI) and for the FCI titles (Winner of the World Dog Show, Winner of the Section Shows – Europe, Asia and the Pacific, Americas and the Caribbean).

Group 1

Sheepdogs and Cattledogs (except Swiss Cattledogs)

Group 2

Pinscher and Schnauzer - Molossoid and Swiss Mountain and Cattledogs

Group 3


Group 4


Group 5

Spitz and primitive types

Group 6

Scent hounds and related breeds

Group 7

Pointing Dogs

Group 8

Retrievers - Flushing Dogs - Water Dogs

Group 9

Companion and Toy Dogs

Group 10